October Wrap Up

Another month of blogging down! The BIG NEWS for this month is that I hit 50 followers!

celebrte

Now I know that may not seem like a whole lot, but given that I’d only been going for about a month when I hit that magic number, I was stoked. I started this blog as a way to fangirl with someone rather than my very reluctant husband, and it already has become so much more. I’ve met so many wonderful people through blogging and my TBR just keeps on growing thanks to all of your amazing reviews. Thank you all for following along with my first two months of blogging, I can’t tell you how much I appreciate it!

SO! October. It flew by for me with an enormous amount of work, two trips to Seattle, and a hell of a lot of backpacking. Trying to squeeze in as many backcountry trips as I can before winter hit’s full force in Alaska. I did, however, manage to squeeze in some blog posts and reading. I straight up SUCKED at blog hopping this month, so really sorry if I haven’t been giving you guys any love.

WHAT I READ:

ravencycle-complete

My favorite reads of this month was the Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater! I devoured all four books. I took me a while to get around to this series … I really wasn’t a fan of her Shiver series (werewolfs, again?!), but this series, oh my god this series. I haven’t gotten around to any reviews yet, but if you haven’t gotten your paws on these books DO IT.

untitled

With Crooked Kingdom coming out this month, I did a quick reread of Six of Crows because frankly, I didn’t remember shit other than Kaz wearing gloves like some kind of weirdo. I read through it in a day and loved every freaking page of it. And then I jumped excitedly into Crooked Kingdom aaaand… DNF’d. For a while. I know, I KNOW. Everyone raved about it and I just didn’t.. I just couldn’t.. UGH. It just seemed so overdone! The characters, the plots, the twists.. I just couldn’t get into it. I finally finished it, and thankfully the ending more than made up for the rest of the book, but still.

20983362

Picked this baby up on a whim.. I’d heard some bad reviews, but I adored the cover and after the Crooked Kingdom fail I needed something new. LOVED IT. The time travel was glorious, and I adored reading about the different places, especially as I’d been to many of them in the present day. This author did some damn good research. Highly recommended, and I swear one of these days I’ll get around to writing a review.

REVIEWS:

Magonia by Maria Headley

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

OTHER POSTS:

Top Ten Tuesday: Villains

Waiting on Wednesday: Aerie

NaNoWriMo 2016!

Books That Suck, Part 1: Obsidian

Field Trips with Books: Denali

Top 5 Wednesday: Inaccurate Book Covers

Sunshine Blogger Award

COMING UP:

So I star NaNoWriMo this month…. sooo yeah, my ass is pretty much going to be owned by my laptop and my shitty story for oh, thirty days. I’ll also be home in NH for the first time in a year, which I’m massively excited about. HOWEVER, taking into account all this, I’ll be lucky if I get much out on my blog so sorry in advance! And if you’re taking part in NaNoWriMo, add me as a writing buddy so we can sob over our writing incompetence together.

**********

How’d everyone’s month go? Any good reads, posts I should look at? Let me know πŸ™‚

One thought on “October Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

