Waiting on Wednesday: Crooked Kingdom and Like a River Glorious

waiting-on-wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a Weekly Meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where you highlight the upcoming books you can’t wait to get your paws on. Crooked Kingdom and Like a River Glorious were released yesterday, and I am itching for ’em. BUT I’ve got about five books out from the library that I’m determined to get through before I start… so good luck to me.

crooked-kingdomCROOKED KINGDOM :: LEIGH BARDUGO

So this is the sequel to Six of Crows, which I loved, though I honestly can’t remember much other than Inej and Kaz with his weirdo gloves. Hoping to find out WHY he wears those damn things all the time.

GOODREADS SUMMARY: Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world

 

like-a-river-glorious

LIKE A RIVER GLORIOUS :: RAE CARSON

And this is the sequel to Walk on Earth a Stranger. I HATE Rae Carson’s The Girl of Fire and Thorns. That was a huge DNF for me. I picked up Walk on Earth a Stranger because the cover looked cool as hell, read it and enjoyed it, and only then realized it was also by Rae Carson… It reads like a Western, the only magic being that the main character has some sort of voodoo-witch-magic where she can sense gold. It reminded me a lot of Oregon Trail, which was my very favorite game growing up. Loved seeing how many oxen I could kill off at the river crossings. Overall, the book was a bit boring, so hopefully things pick up in Like a River Glorious.

GOODREADS SUMMARY: After a harrowing journey across the country, Leah Westfall and her friends have finally arrived in California and are ready to make their fortunes in the Gold Rush. Lee has a special advantage over the other new arrivals in California—she has the ability to sense gold, a secret known only by her handsome best friend Jefferson and her murdering uncle Hiram.

Lee and her friends have the chance to be the most prosperous settlers in California, but Hiram hasn’t given up trying to control Lee and her power. Sabotage and kidnapping are the least of what he’ll do to make sure Lee is his own. His mine is the deepest and darkest in the territory, and there Lee learns the full extent of her magical gift, the worst of her uncle, and the true strength of her friendships. To save everyone, she vows to destroy her uncle and the empire he is building—even at the cost of her own freedom.

 **********

Anything coming up that you’re waiting on? Excited for Crooked Kingdom or Like a River Glorious? I’d love to head from you!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

10 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Crooked Kingdom and Like a River Glorious

  1. I went to a signing event for Leigh Bardugo’s Troublemakers Tour on Monday and had a blast. We received Crooked Kingdom on that day and omg it is beautiful!! I already started the book and so far, so good. I cannot wait for you to get and devour it =D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so lucky! I wish authors came up to Alaska. I went to Barnes and Noble and ogled Crooked Kingdom yesterday. Love the red pages! So happy to hear that it’s good .. I’m waiting to reread Six of Crows before I buy it 😃 Don’t want to be completely clueless haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

