Review: Throne of Glass

togTHRONE OF GLASS :: SARAH J MAAS


RATING:
3.5 STARS (hear me out..)

GENRE: HIGH FANTASY

SUMMARY: Celeana is a foul mouthed, swaggering former assassin who is dragged out of slavery by none other than the Crown Prince of Adarlan, the son of her sworn enemy. Renowned for her ability to turn people into carcasses, Celeana is backed by said prince in a competition to become the King’s hitman. The prize? Her freedom. When some of the other competitors start turning up dead at the hands of some freaky organ-harvester, she’s forced to come to grips with her allegiances, some other-worldy brutes, and a past that just won’t stay down.

“I name you Elentiya.” She kissed the assassin’s brow. “I give you this name to use with honour, to use when other names grow too heavy. I name you Elentiya, ‘Spirit That Could Not Be Broken.” — Sarah J Maas; Throne of Glass

REVIEW: I LOVE THIS SERIES. Sarah J Maas is QUEEN. However, I do not love this book. Okay so I did, until I read the rest of Sarah J Maas’ books and realized this book is child’s play in comparison. Which makes sense, as she did start writing Throne of Glass at an age when most girls are worrying about boys and upgrading to a real bra, not writing a best seller.

Throne of Glass is pretty rough. The plot is simplistic and overdone, as are most competition-centered books (and the YA market is FLOODED with them). There’s also about a gajillion exclamation marks in the first few chapters alone, and the style of writing over all is basic. You’re “told” a lot of elements of the story, rather than “shown”.

However, STICK WITH THIS BOOK. I cannot emphasize this enough.

Celaena, oh Celaena. I have such a love-hate relationship with her in this book. She’s rude, immature, arrogant, spoiled … and undeniably badass. Or at least I think she is? I mean, this is a girl who splits skulls for a living and she spends most of the first book whining and drooling over fancy clothes.  BUT taking into account her history, you kind of get it. She’s struggling to reclaim any part of herself she can get, and she’s young and used to getting her way, and you kind of feel bad for her. Kind of just want to give her a hug and a bag of chocolate.

Despite all of this, Throne of Glass has some real gems to it. Maas lays down a wonderful, if heavy-handed, foundation of characters (looking at you, Chaol, Dorian and Nehemia) and story line, which she then takes and turns into pure-freaking-gold in the sequels. Also, the worldbuilding. Oh my Wyrd, the world building. Anything you could want, Throne of Glass has. Never have I encountered such an in depth, well supported and GORGEOUS world in a YA book. It’s on par with Tolkien, George RR Martin, etc.   There’s such a variety of cultures and countries, each backed with their own history, and then all interwoven into this magnificent masterpiece. When someone asks me where I want to go on my next vacation, I answer Terrasen.

Bottom line, power through this book and move on to the bigger and better sequels. Stick with it. I promise it will be the best decision you ever made.

3 thoughts on “Review: Throne of Glass

  1. I read this a few years ago and my reaction was basically “meh.” Like you, I thought it was rather apparent she’d written the first draft of this as a teenager. I had also recently read Graceling and Grave Mercy and thought they got the whole assassin thing done much better. I gave up on the ToG series after this book and didn’t think of it much since. However, I have been reading the ACOTAR series and agree Maas has really become a much better writer with experience.

    Like

Leave a Reply

